The End of Freshman Year.

I really can’t believe that my freshman year of college has ended. It seems like just yesterday that I was walking across that stage in Mannheim with my tiny class of 48. Now I’ve been at Syracuse University for an entire year and I think that I’ve been pretty successful so far.
I have learned so much this year, more than I ever imagined possible. I have learned who I really am. I have learned what I can stand for and what I can’t. I have learned that as a military brat it’s can be really hard to relate to others. I have learned that people who hurt you are really just insecure. And I have also learned that if you just stand your ground, be yourself, remember who you are, things will eventually work themselves out.
So here’s what I want to say to all of my friends back home who are going to have similar experiences after this summer or in the next few years:
1. If you don’t agree with something, don’t feel like you have to do it just because everyone else does.
2. Fitting in isn’t worth it. Honestly, you’re just not going to fit in, (especially if you’ve lived in Germany for more than two years) so embrace it, stand out.
3. If you stay true to yourself, you’ll eventually find the right people that are worth your time.
4. Past wounds may surface but you’ve dealt with them once before and you can do it again.
5. You’ll miss your family more than you ever imagined.
6. You’ll feel more alone than you ever have in your life.
7. You’ll learn who you really are and you’ll prove to yourself and everyone who has ever doubted you that you can do it. (:
8. Orange is a great color.
9. You’ll do more work than you ever have in your entire life.

It was a rough year, but it was so worth it. I’m thankful for all of the lessons that I learned this year and I’m really looking forward to next year now that I’ve figured things out.

I want to thank everyone who’s been there for me through it all!

About mmcleven

I'm Margaret Clevenger, a current student at Syracuse University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The End of Freshman Year.

  1. Kaitlin J says:

    Yay I think I’m your very first commenter! I could never make a blog, I would be way to addicted lol. I read this post though and I am so so happy someone else agrees with me about college!! Definitely a lot different than I expected but I learned so much and all those things definitely apply to me also. It was nice living on the same floor as you this year, hopefully I’ll see you next year. Have a good summer 🙂

    • mmcleven says:

      Kaitlin! Aw thanks for commenting! You are my very first commenter. 🙂 I’m glad that you can relate to my post, sometimes I feel like I’m the only one. I’m hoping that I have somewhat of a life this summer and don’t post too much. 😛

      You’ll see me next year for sure. I’ll make sure. Have a great summer!

  2. Jim Perry says:

    Margaret… Good stuff. If my memory serves me correctly…I think #1-4 & 7 were most of my topics of discussion in Mannheim! Glad to see you’re doing great in college and discovering a different leash on life. If and when you get a chance… check out the link below and go to lesson #37. Watch the whole series “I believe in you”. It’s only 4 segments. Here’s the website…

    http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/i-believe-in-you-week-1/id79118912?i=87346135

    ~Jim 🙂

    • mmcleven says:

      Jim, you’re completely right! You did talk to us about all of those things. It really did help me and I’m sure it helped every one else as well. What good messages. 🙂
      I’ll watch that video tomorrow, for sure. I’ll let you know what I think. Thanks for the comment!

      • Jim Perry says:

        Enjoy your summer…be safe. I wanna see you graduate!! Yes, I’ll expect an invite to your ceremony in three years.

        ~Jim

  3. Sieg H. says:

    Hi Margaret,

    Congratulations on completing your first year. Can’t believe a whole year has gone by. All of our lives have changed radically since last summer. Christine has moved to a job in protocol in Kaiserslautern and is doing well. I’ve moved to a job in Heidelberg with 43D Signal Battalion in Human Resources, my old job before I spent 15 years in Public Affairs. In retrospect, I can truthfully say you were the best summer hire I’ve ever had. I’m sure there were a few things you experienced that will be useful in college and for those big career decisions a few years down the road. Enjoy the summer.

    Best regards,

    Sieg

    • mmcleven says:

      Thank you so much Mr. Heppner! It means a lot to me. I hope that everything is going well in Heidelberg!
      I definitely learned a lot being a summer hire for the Mannheim PAO. I’m actually hoping to major in public relations. 🙂
      Have a great summer!

Leave a Reply

