My Summer

As promised, today I’m writing to you guys about my summer. I did a lot of things and quite a bit of traveling! I interned for the U.S. Army Garrison Baden-Wuerttemburg public affairs office and Herald Post newspaper. The experience was great and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Because of staff shortages, I wound up doing a lot more for the newspaper than the PAO. Although I don’t particularly want toΒ  be a journalist, I gained a lot of experience. I became more comfortable talking to people I didn’t know during interviews, I networked with military officials and I made a name for myself in publication.

Three of my articles were published in six weeks and several photographs that I took were used in the newspaper. If you would like to read my articles and see my pictures, please visit the Sept 6, Aug 30, and Aug 23 editions of the Herald Post newspaper here: http://www.bw.eur.army.mil/news/PDF.html

One picture that I took even got featured in a German newspaper!

I also got a lot more familiar with AP style and it is certainly helping me in my public relations classes! AP is more of a habit now, a way of life, rather than forced the chore it used to be for class.

I also went to a 4 day concert fest, Rock im Park, in Nuremberg, Germany. I went with my brother, his girlfriend, and two other friends from high school. We had a great time!

In July my Mom, Dad, brother and I all went to Croatia. It was gorgeous. We spent our week on a 20 person sail boat along the coast of Croatia.

Then, I went to Boston and New York City for the first time before heading back to ‘Cuse. It was a little hard to go back after such a great summer, but I was greeted by my amazing friends and I came to realize that I’m really happy with where I’m at. πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading guys!

About mmcleven

I'm Margaret Clevenger, a current student at Syracuse University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Summer

  1. carly goldstein says:

    Margaret, I love the way you reintroduced your blog to your followers, but kept it interesting. If i were following you already, i would be intrigued. Your post about your summer experience was super cool and it shows the kind of person you are. I like that you added links to your articles after discussing them in your post. You write in a respectable tone and that is important- I look forward to reading more of what you have to say!

  2. scjohn01 says:

    I completely agree with Carly, you bring your own voice to your blog and allow readers good insight into your personality. I also remember from our Business Ethics class, you discussing your job in Germany. Not only does that sound like a great experience from a professional stand point, it also seems as if it was very exciting! Plus being able to do an internship outside of the U.S will prove to be very helpful in the future, seeing as our world is putting an even stronger emphasis on globalization. I look forward to reading more from you and possibly checking out those articles you had published on base

  3. vlamigh says:

    Margaret, I love the way your blog really has a voice of its own. Your use of pictures and links are great additions. I think its great that you had such an amazing summer. I am actually a quarter german, but I have never had the opportunity to visit Germany. As for New York City, I am right around the corner. If you ever visit the city again, you should definitely check out the restaurant “Southern Hospitality.” I look forward to reading more about your experiences in Germany and life at Syracuse.

  4. mmcleven says:

    Aw thank you guys! I’m so glad you liked my post! πŸ™‚

    Vanessa, I will definitely check that out next time I’m in the city!

Leave a Reply

