I didn’t vote.

I didn’t vote this year. I’ve seen a lot of negative posts on social media about people who didn’t vote. They call us “un-American” and claim that we have no right to comment on what happens in the government. I don’t think this is right and I think it’s important for voters who make such accusations to try and understand the decision not to vote.

Typically, non-voters are characterized as uneducated or lazy. I would not consider myself either of those things. I really researched both candidates and even the third party candidates (which is probably more research than a lot of people who voted did). I’m pretty much a complete moderate. Pretty liberal on social issues, moderate financially, more conservative on foreign policies. As you can see by that mix of political views, it’s really difficult to chose one candidate, especially when they’re both completely right or left wing.

I agreed with some of Obama’s policies and also some of Romney’s but there were fundamental aspects of both candidates that I just could not support. I’ve been flip flopping since Romney was declared as the official GOP Presidential Candidate. One day I thought that Obama was the best choice and the next day I’d be on Romney’s side.

Throughout election day, I was still divided. I couldn’t make it to my polling station until 6 p.m. and when I finally got in line, it hit me. I was going to wait two hours in line at the library, to vote for a candidate I felt uneasy about. It was then that I decided it was better to just not vote at all.

I’m usually a very decisive person and pride myself on being able to make a decision and stick with it, so this whole decision was out of character for me and kept me awake for quite a few nights. This election really opened my eyes to a lot of things. I have to say I’m kind of disappointed in our country and it’s political system. No country is perfect and we are very fortunate to be Americans, but I don’t know how much longer our country can deal with such a severe division. Something’s gotta change.

About mmcleven

I'm Margaret Clevenger, a current student at Syracuse University.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

